Action Alert: Pedestrian Killed by Driver in Wethersfield, 40th Ped-Bike Fatality in CT 2022

Thomas Regan-Lefebvre and Kerri Provost issued this action alert for the 40th pedestrian-bicyclist killed by a motor vehicle driver in Connecticut in 2022:

On Friday night July 29th, a pedestrian was killed by a driver on Silas Deane Highway, state route 99. See WFSB news coverage.

Silas Deane is a five-lane speed track with widely inadequate infrastructures protecting vulnerable road users. 

If you can, come to the Wethersfield Town Council meeting on Monday at 7PM and use your 3 minutes of free-speech time to address Council members on the abysmal lack of infrastructure for pedestrians in this town.

Please contact the following officials and tell them that:

– it is the 40th pedestrian killed in our state since the beginning of the year and the second in Wethersfield

– this area is a well-known dark spot for safety as another pedestrian was killed on the highway on Sept. 16, 2020

– Call for the town to apply to State DOT Connectivity Grant to fund proper pedestrian infrastructures: https://portal.ct.gov/DOT/PP_Intermodal/CTConnectivity/CT-Connectivity- 

Wethersfield officials:

Mayor Michael Rell: michael.rell@wethersfieldct.gov
Council members Tom Mazzarella, tom.mazzarella@wethersfieldct.gov; Ryan Biggs ryan.biggs@wethersfieldct.gov, Ken Lesser ken.lesser@wethersfieldct.gov, Matthew Forrest matthew.forrest@wethersfieldct.gov, Kevin Hill kevin.hill@wethersfieldct.gov, Dan O’ Connor dan.oconnor@wethersfieldct.gov, Pat Pentalow pat.pentalow@wethersfieldct.gov, Shelley Carbone shelley.carbone@wethersfieldct.gov

Town Manager: fred.presley@wethersfieldct.gov

State Rep Amy Morin Bello:Amy.MorrinBello@cga.ct.gov

State Senator John Fonfara: John.Fonfara@cga.ct.gov

DOT:

– Anna Bergeron: bike/ped Coordinator: Anna.Bergeron@ct.gov

– CT Vision Zero Council:CTVisionZero@ct.gov